Beiträge von dvbdvb

I have seen this patch before and it is ugly. If this patch really is necessary, then there is something wrong in another place and has to be fixed there. Anyway, I don't accept patches to the driver itself, only to the package. This kind of patches have to be implemented by the driver developers.

I am no programmer so if you say it is ugly it probably is ;-). If someone has a better way to do it that's even better of course. I think that it is required to be able to create a virtual/loopback device that otherwise get blocked because of the lock. Since the patch is already there since the 2.X kernel if someone can create a solution that is not ugly and can be integrated that be awesome.

thx

Webcam drivers are not build by the dkms. Some of them made problems in the past and nobody of us needs them.

To fix it rebuild the sources of the dkms package with the needed drivers in the .config activated and add these drivers to the dkms.conf.
    If you got it working, you can send patches.

Gerald

thx. Will take a look but sounds complex, probably have to do without cam then. Regarding patches, the one below does not yet seem to be included but is readily available for quite some time now and would save some manual patching ;-).

Please include the mutex patch

I installed the latest version using dkms but then my webcam stops working. When I plug it in it looks like it still references to different driver versions:

Code
    [    3.043224] videodev: Unknown symbol media_entity_put (err 0)
    [    3.043241] videodev: Unknown symbol media_entity_remove_links (err 0)
    [    3.043256] videodev: Unknown symbol media_device_register_entity (err 0)
    [    3.043287] videodev: Unknown symbol media_entity_get (err 0)
    [    3.043293] videodev: Unknown symbol media_device_unregister_entity (err 0)

Anyone knows how to fix this?