Beiträge von JTe1828

Dr. Seltsam thanks for pointing out the correct audio settings. I must have been accidently changing mine when playing with the menus. So currently you can only set those by editing the /etc/vdr/setup.conf -file.

With the settings pvrinput.HDPVR_AudioEncoding = 1 and pvrinput.HDPVR_AudioInput = 2 I have again the AC3 5.1. sound!

To connect the HDMI cable of the setup box to the HDPVR I have been using this with a component video cable for more than 10 years now:

https://www.hdfury.com/docs/HDfury3manual.pdf

Extra Item for HDFury | HDFury.com | Connect and Fix everything in HDMI
    Accessories available : 6' HDMI Cable 6' HDMI to DVI-D 6' Jack Optical to SP/DIF 6' USB 5V Cable for HDF1&2 BLUE RGB Cable (HD15 VGA) for HDF1&2 BLUE…
    www.hdfury.com

It is a little bit pricey, but has very good picture quality, a lot of settings, and also digital SPDIF output. You can find quite good second hand deals with some googling.

To get the coaxial SPDIF of HDFury to optical (HDPVR has an optical input) you can use one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/spdif-optical-converter/s?k=spdif+to+optical+converter

Or as I had on my self a HDMI ARC Audio extractor (with optical SDPIF output and passthrough HDMI) you can also use one of those:

https://www.amazon.com/hdmi-arc-adapter/s?k=hdmi+arc+adapter

With this setup I have never had problems with HDMI connectivity.

Do you have any recordings in 5.1 surround sound over SPDIF?
    My recordings with the 1212 have only stereo 2.0 AAC over SPDIF.
    I use an HDMI audioextractor myself, too.
    What kind of sound output do you get from your set-top-box (bitstream, PCM, AC3, ...) for recording in 5.1 with the HDPVR1212?

I did check few recordings and if I run ffprobe I get:

Code
      Stream #0:0[0x1011]: Video: h264 (Main) ([27][0][0][0] / 0x001B), yuv420p(tv, bt709, top first), 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 25 fps, 50 tbr, 90k tbn, 50 tbc