Nexus-s Rev2.2 & onboard IR circuit

• Hi, all
    i was trying something with my nexus-s 2.2
    i was trying to replace the sensor of the original remote control receiver with new one , and i did it, and it worked great
    but when finalizing the circuit and while the card was pluged to my pc and running the white wire of the IR(5 VOLTS- i think) touched the ground wire, after that the IR circuit stoped responding

i've tested the old sensor and the new one, and i can tell that they work perfectly on another remote circuit.

i've sent pm to UFO, Thomas, and randy , and as a result for their advices i guess there is a broken transistor between the IR connector on the nexus board and the av7110 IR_IN, or the av7110 IR_IN itself is damaged.

so, what do you think folks?
    if there is a defected transistor, how can i know it?
    i dont know how to trace a circuit, HOWEVER i have some good experience with SMD soldering (did the memory mod ,and the budget patch by myself)

if some one who faced this problem before could send me some info on that issue , i'd be thankful

also i want a simple site that teaches tracing and messuring circuits(in english please) .

many thanks in advance

mas0h..

Intel 865Perl, P4 2.4, nVIDIA GeForce 4 128 MB, WD 160 GB, Maxtor 80 GB, SBLive 5.1
    Nexus-S Rev 2.2 (4MB) OSD
    Debian Sarge ==> Kernel-2.6.10
    Fedora Core 3 ==> Kernel-2.6.10

• Zitat

Original von mas0h
    but when finalizing the circuit and while the card was pluged to my pc and running the white wire of the IR(5 VOLTS- i think) touched the ground wire, after that the IR circuit stoped responding

Hm - in your PM you wrote that the red wire touched the ground. So what? It makes a big difference!

Please check the voltage on the white (5V) wire. If it is 0V you killed the SMD resistor which limits the current on the white wire. This resistor saved your card. :D

CU
    Oliver

• Hey, UFO
    Actually, i cant remember which wire touched the other